In most countries, young people form a large proportion of those who are unemployed. Why this is the case, and what can be done to solve the problem?

The unemployment rate for the youth has become a concern in many different areas. This essay will discuss how lack of experience causes this phenomenon as well as provide some solutions such as government-supported placement programs will help to deal with this issue. There are many reasons that cause young people jobless. One of the main factors is the lack of practical experience. Employers are more likely to hire people with relevant experience rather than young graduates. For example, most of the jobs listed on job ads nowadays need at least one to two years of experience. As a result, it is relatively hard for the youth to get a job and hence the unemployment rate for them stays high. To deal with this issue, government and education institutions should provide different placement programs to help students gain relevant experience before they graduate. Support should be given to both sides. For example, the government should provide a tax benefit to companies that give opportunities to the young and on the other hand exempt some academic studies if students complete their placement. This would be a win-win situation which can lead to a lower unemployment rate for the youth. In conclusion, lack of relevant experience is one of the main factors that causes the high unemployment rate of young people. In order to deal with it, a placement program that benefits both employers and students is necessary.