SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT IT IS BETTER TO EDUCATE BOYS AND GIRLS IN SEPARATE SCHOOLS. OTHERS, HOWEVER, BELIEVE THAT BOYS AND GIRLS BENEFIT MORE FROM ATTENDING MIX SCHOOLS. DISCUSS BOTH THESE VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION.

There is a controversy among parents about whether to choose single-sex schools or co-educational schools for their children. Although single-sex schools are less discrimination between genders, they do not represent a real-world experience as mixed schools. They both have their own justifications, however I quite agree with the latter one and here are the reasons. On the one hand, single-gender schools offer children a focused atmosphere for studying. Since there is no sex discrimination, students don't waste their time attracting the opposite sex. For example, a girl in girls' schools is able to concentrate on learning subjects and exploring her preferences rather than spending her time on dress-up or make-up to attract boys. Furthermore, growing up among same-sex peers ensures parents that their children will be safer and have less tendency to teenage pregnancy. However, these students might not be familiar with the opposite sex and have no idea how to interact with them appropriately. On the other hand, mixed schools are considered to represent a real-world community. Growing up with the opposite gender helps students learn how to collaborate with their peers, in other words, how to team up with the ones. As a result, young people are well prepared to enter workforce markets which are considered gender diverse. For example, a female employee who graduated from a mixed school knows how to interact properly with her male boss since she has opposite-sex friends. While single-sex schools provide children with a better atmosphere for learning, they can not offer a real-world experience to students. Consequently, mixed schools are a more suitable option for preparing children for society. If I were a parent, I would opt for co-educational schools.