Nowadays, many people prefer eating out rather than cooking at home. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, eating out instead of cooking at home has become increasingly popular. Although eating out can have certain merits, I personally think that the demerits are more considerable. On the one hand, eating out brings a lot of benefits. One of the most significant benefits is that it helps save time. This is mainly because people can quickly get a meal and they do not have to prepare ingredients and cook. Also, people do not need to waste time cleaning the kitchen and washing the dishes after the meal. The second benefit is that when people eat out, they have more choices and they can choose whatever they want to eat. Besides, there are some dishes that people cannot cook themselves. For example, sushi, which is a dish from Japan, requires materials to be fresh so people may have to go to a restaurant. On the other hand, I am firmly convinced that the drawbacks of eating out are more significant. To begin with, eating out may have negative effects on people ’s health. This is mainly because people cannot know the origin and quality of the ingredients of the food. To illustrate this point, in Vietnam, there are many restaurants that sell lots of dishes which are cooked with reused cooking oil. Moreover, the cost of eating out is usually higher than cooking at home. This is mainly because restaurants not only charge service fees but also many other fees. For instance, in Vietnam, lots of restaurants charge their customers a certain amount of tax and service fee. In conclusion, while there are certain upsides of eating out regarding its convenience and variety of choices, it is my firm belief that the downsides in terms of negative effects on people ’s health and the higher cost are weightier.