In Many Countries, Children do not do physical exercises as much as before and the tend to become more and more overweight. What are the reasons and solutions of this?

In this modern era, a number of nations are observing obesity in children and the reason for this is because kids are not exercising. This essay will look at some causes of limited exercises in children and solutions to the issue. The advent of social media makes people stay glued to their mobile electronic devices for several hours. They move from one platform to the other, watching their favorite programs, reading news, chatting with friends and gaming. These activities mostly inculcate an addictive behaviour in the users as they are kept in suspense and want to know more as they read or desire to go higher with games. Studies has revealed that prolonged screen-time is the primary reason people do not exercise because it brings the world around them. To illustrate this in our modern world, people defer walking to shops whilst they sit in the comfort of their homes and look up their preferred items on online shops. If they decide on an item they want to purchase, they do not need to go to the shop to get it as it will be delivered to them. It is clear from this the effects technology has on the physical activity of children. A way around this is for parents to regulate what their wards can access on their phones and computers at a particular time. For instance, an agreement is made between parents and their children that the reward the children will get from exercising is to be allowed access to a passcode on their phones or computers within a specified on screentime. As a means of motivation, children are likely to comply. Another answer to this issue is encouraging children to engage in outdoor games than those on their devices. Another reason for the limited or no exercise in children is less avenue to be physically active. The main culprit here is increased use of cars. Most parents contribute to this. They drive their children around to everywhere they want to go in their quest of making the lives of their little ones comfortable and safe. This I agree. But besides being comfortable, overweight has deleterious effects and should be curbed. Research has concluded on the importance of walking instead of being driven everywhere. In spite of this, a plausible solution is informing parents to drop their wards a few blocks to their various destinations so they walk as a means of exercise to cover the remaining distance. Moreover, children should be encouraged to use stairs rather than elevators in buildings. Furthermore, every individual has a required number of steps that when achieved in a day is considered a form of exercise. And there are modern watches to track these steps hence parents can purchase these watches for the kids to constantly monitor if they walking adequately. In conclusion, it is evident that the main causes of reduced exercises in children is prolonged use of technological gadgets and cars whilst tentative solutions are limiting the use of these. The overall outcome is reducing children who are overweight in our societies.