Some people say cultural traditions are destroyed when they are used as money- making attractions aimed at tourists. Others say this is the only way to save such traditions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often stated that tourism ruins the importance of any heritages that are showcased for the purpose of growing the national economy. However, many argue otherwise and view tourism as a form of salvation. In this essay, I will give reasons to validate both these views while providing my own opinion at the end. To begin with, it is possible to argue that tourism negatively affects the displayed sites. These locations are generally very old and vulnerable, and therefore they must be treated with great care and caution. Yet, when such places become crowded with too many individuals, it poses a real challenge for the authorities to manage a large number of people. Also, not everyone will be willing to comply with the official instructions during their visits and thus may cause major damage to those sites as a result of that. Nevertheless, it is also possible to argue that tourism provides more good than bad. This view claims to see tourism as a form of promotion or education that seeks to protect cultural identities as opposed to killing them. In this rapidly changing globe, it has become very difficult to hold on to rooted culture. Tourism is certainly one way to preserve that culture by making it only accessible for others to experience and not to alter. This way, governments maintain enough control to save cultural identities instead of losing them in culture wars. Finally, in my,opinion I agree with the view that tourism helps to preserve and protect culture while making money. Although tourists may be difficult to handle, the financial benefits they bring to the table certainly outweigh the negatives. As long as the authorities plan and prepare properly, any tourist groups are capable of being administered. The profits from the tourists can then be used to repair and care for the precious heritages as well as other things if it brings in huge profit. To conclude, although many people argue that tourism causes more damage than good, I opine otherwise. I think it protects and preserves the cultural heritage while contributing to the growth of the economy.