Some people say that individuals who make a lot of money are most successful. others believe that individuals who contribute to society like scientist and teacher are more successful. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are differing opinions as to which vocation is more successful. One group opines it is careers where individuals make huge income, whereas others say more successful people are scientists and teachers. This essay seeks to look at both opinions and I will give my opinion in the course of my writing. To begin with, the primary reason most parents enrol their children through formal education is to attain a well-earning job for an independent comfortable life. I can understand this because, good living is defined by one being able to acquire shelter, and afford food and good clothing. Money is required to attain these 3 things. It is therefore not surprising that society views such things as great achievements. Meanwhile, every worker earns a fee but at varying amounts based on the work they do, the skills they bring to the table and their qualifications. Most higher-earning individuals in our society are more skilled and have higher qualifications which only a few people can attain. No wonder, people interpret reaching such height as success. In spite of all these, the benefits of such success are to an individual and his or her family. Hence, I do not reckon this as one being successful. On the other hand, scientists and teachers impact several lives in the universe with their knowledge and skills. Our world is a better place because of research carried out by scientists. For instance, many lives have been saved since the invention of antibiotics by Sir Alexander Fleming. Also, the foundation of every profession is built on teaching. Teachers are especially skilled at imparting knowledge to everyone. They guide people through childhood to adulthood to make career choices. Their products are the experts we have in our societies ranging from medical doctors, to lawyers and contractors. In spite of this, people in the scientific world and teaching fields, beyond good names do not earn much money. However, their impact is so great that it affects masses of people all over the world. In my opinion, I think this is a true definition of success. To sum up, earning a huge salary in a career is good for personal and family development. Whilst the works of a teacher and scientist affect the whole globe. Therefore, in my opinion, the later vocations are what success is.