The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

For the past decades, libraries have been in the service of man. Some people opine that the primary reason for public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and place on providing expensive digital media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. I completely disagree with the notion that these amenities are a waste of resources or space for the library. To begin with, a library is a place that shelves many books that readers can read or borrow. If libraries start providing audio and video content, it will be easy to encourage reading among 15 to 45 years of age groups. it is irrefutable that technology is making our lives easier. Studies have shown that 80 per cent of people are using digital resources on a daily basis. With the help of digital amenities, youngsters can save time in finding information quickly. Another important key point is that the use of hi-tech media in libraries can also be helpful in saving our environment. For this reason, paper production causes deforestation. Enormous amounts of energy and water are used in the process leading to air pollution and waste disposable problems. Hence, the use of digital mediums can reduce paper usage to a large extent. Additionally, hi-tech media comes in handy to look for relevant information without being time-consuming. To put it in a nutshell, I am bent on the fact that advancement should be welcomed in every field. If hi-tech media facilities are provided in every library, people of all age groups can enjoy reading books.