Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the advancement of technology, young adults nowadays have easy access to digital devices such as smartphones, which they often end up using excessively every day. In my view, I believe that this growing issue can have negative impacts on children, and it may have resulted from several possible reasons which I'll address in the following essay. Some of the major reasons that result in children's excessive use of smartphones may be modernized relationships and real-life challenges. For example, most people in the present day build relationships through social media and chatting applications instead of paper mail or telephone landlines. Additionally, teenagers are easily influenced by peers and therefore keeping up on everything trendy on media is relatively essential at this age. Furthermore, youngsters sometimes suffer from a great deal of stress, either academic or peer pressure. From my own experiences, whenever I encountered difficulties when I was in high school, I'd spend a substantial amount of time on smartphones, escaping from reality and redirecting my focus to something less relative. This phenomenon is catastrophic as it may lead to safety concerns and unpredicted health problems. For instance, in my country, there is frequent news about some young individuals getting into trouble because of hanging out with complete strangers who met online, without noticing that those so-called friends might be villains. Moreover, there is a more severe issue called cyberbullying these days, as young adults are easily targeted by peers in school. All of those potential risks mentioned above can also affect children's health both physically and mentally. Excessive use of digital phones can lead to soaring eyes, near eye-sighted and even depression. Those are the negative impacts we shouldn't be ignoring. In conclusion, it's a growing trend among teenagers to invest a lot of time in digital devices so as to maintain relationships and relieve stress. However, the time distribution to using smartphones should be monitored, considering substantial use of smartphones can cause unexpected safety issues and increase the risk of health problems.