16.Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is argued that these days more and more individuals who face health difficulties, do not go to the hospital, instead, they use complementary medicines and treatments. However, in my opinion, I think that this is a negative evolution because safety is not guaranteed and alternative medicine won’t cure the disease. The use of medicine that is not indicated by the doctor, effectiveness and safety are not guaranteed. This is because people do not know what problem they really have, so when looking on the internet about what disease it could be and what treatment they need to take, the answers found on the websites can be false. Some similar or equal symptoms can be found in different types of illness, so people won’t treat their problems as important, putting at risk their health and well-being. Recent research concluded that around 85% of people do not give importance to the diseases they have because they think that are not dangerous. When using alternative remedies to cure people’s health problems, these are not successful. This is because some medicine can reduce some symptoms, but it can not make them disappear at all. This can cause a big problem if,after a long time, individuals notice that they are still sick, and when they opt to go to the doctor, they will do a body examination, but after taking medicine, this can lead to misunderstanding or error when analyzing, since the treatment that they had followed could conduct to omission or short-term disappearance of some indicator in the analysis. For example, 30 minutes after taking ibuprofen, the feeling of pain will directly disappear for some hours, but then it will start again, so for some diseases, it is not the best solution. In conclusion, alternative treatments are a negative evolution because they cannot heal individuals successfully and they can cause misinterpretation when analyzing people’s sicknesses.