33.Fewer young people do farming work in rural areas? Why? Should young people be encouraged to do farming work?

Recent years have witnessed a significant decline in the number of young people who do farming work in rural areas. In this essay, I will primarily explore some factors behind this trend and explain the reasons why the young generation's participation in farming activities should be encouraged. To begin with, the reduction of the young workforce in the farming sector can be attributed to rapid urbanization which has been taking place in several parts around the world. Under such circumstances, teenagers are more likely to move to bigger cities in search of better education and more job opportunities, and then reside there, leaving only the elderly working alone on farms in the countryside. In addition, the nature of agriculture makes it less interesting among youngsters. Basically, farm work is often seen as labour-intensive, low-paying and highly vulnerable to severe weather. Despite the above reasons, I believe that young people should be incentivized to become farmers. Firstly, agriculture has been and will be one of the main sectors of society. Therefore, a shortage of personnel can lead to a global food crisis. Food being one of the fundamentals means that its supply process should be effective in order to sustain human beings. It can only be done if there is sufficient manpower to carry out the production. Secondly, a young mind can help drive improvements in this ancient profession. They are more adaptable to advanced technologies and apply them to their farms, thus boosting agricultural productivity. In conclusion, young people nowadays are less interested in doing farming work due to rapid urbanization and the nature of agriculture. I firmly believe that they should be encouraged to engage in farming activities because they provide manpower and introduce advanced technologies to the agricultural sector.