Nowadays people tend to have their own business because of the modern world. Why do they need this? What are the risks?

It has become common these days for people to establish jobs by themselves. I will say the main reasons why this should be done are to create employment for people and challenge the government sector to sit up. Besides these, some risks that may arise are monopoly and lack of job security for employees in the private sector. To begin with, the commonest need that is fulfilled in operating privately owned firm is an avenue for employment. These days, it has increasingly become difficult for people to acquire jobs even with the right qualifications. This is because there aren't too many vacancies in the public sector some of which were established several years ago to serve very few populations. Now, our numbers on the globe have increased beyond what existing businesses can offer. Hence, capable people make it a point to start a business by themselves, in the beginning as a means of livelihood for themselves but eventually serve to employ others in the community. Also, in the past, most government firm employees had very poor interpersonal relationships and showed less professionalism towards their clients. This generated a lot of bureaucracy and long queues at various places. With the establishment of private businesses, the public sector is being forced to sit up as they now have competitors. This is because private businesses thrive on income generated to run. With this in mind, they work hard to offer quality services to their customers in order to keep them and also for recommendations. By so doing, a malfunctioning public firm will gradually lose its clients to the one-man companies. However, one risk that comes with privately owned companies is monopoly. Some of these facilities are established with the sole aim of making a profit and will do anything to exploit its customers for money. For instance, most private hospitals in Ghana instruct the employed doctors to request some fundamental labs for every patient who visits the institution whether or not those labs are needed just so they make more money. This obviously is not fair to the patients. Another risk that may arise is, that most of their employees do not have job security. For example, Taco By Night Restaurant keeps changing the workers because the employer says familiarity breeds contempt and it's a thing she wouldn't want to brood at her workplace. To sum up, self-owned firms are necessary to help with the employment situation in a country and also create competition for the government sector. Despite these, these firms are not devoid of risks like monopoly.