The role of education is to prepare children for the modern world. Schools should cut art and music out of the curriculum so that children can focus on useful subjects such as information technology. To what extent do you agree?

Some people believe that school curriculums should focus more on beneficial subjects, such as information technology, than art and music, in order to prepare kids for the modern world. I disagree with it, and here are my reasons. One major reason is that learning art and music gives children a space to be themselves. They learn how to relax through doing these activities, and also develop creative skills. For example, some researchers stated that children playing music tend to have higher skills in mathematic problem-solving than children who don't play it. Furthermore, young people should have a chance to try many things in schools as much as possible,so they will know themselves and their preferences. A student who performs well in art and music and eventually becomes an artist or musician one day. In addition, School curriculums with only academic interests might put tremendous pressure on children. As a result, it can lead to mental health issues in kids. In conclusion, I would argue that non-academic subjects such as art and music not only give kids relaxation and creativity but also give them a profession such as art teachers or musicians in the future. Consequently, schools should put these subjects into the curriculum.