The only way to improve road safety is to give more stricter punishments for driving offences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

With the increasing number of people owning a private car, the safety in road transportation has become a hot issue. Therefore, an argument has been proposed that to give more stricter punishments for driving offences is the only way to improve road safety. However, considering the reasons, such as education and mental health, I totally disagree with this idea. Firstly, the fact that giving more rigid punishments cannot be effective in reducing traffic crashes indicates that the reason that people commit a car accident is about the education is road safety. To be more specific, a driver's license does not prove how good a person's driving skills or legal awareness are. For example, novices may not be able to handle complex traffic conditions better than experienced individuals, even if they all have a driver's license. Therefore, enforcing education or training in driving can be effective in decreasing road issues. Secondly, giving more strict punishments cannot be the only way to increase road safety because some collisions that occur can be traced to the mental health of the driver. More specifically, Some drivers who have experienced traffic accidents may have experienced such incidents due to mental health issues, such as seeking speed stimulation or venting negative emotions. Therefore, imposing more severe punishment on such people is ineffective, and only psychological counselling or helping them find channels to vent their negative emotions will be effective. So, providing stricter punishment measures is not the only way to improve traffic safety. In conclusion, there are many possibilities for problems to arise, and simply using a certain method cannot solve the problem. Instead, it is necessary to identify the root cause of the problem and take different measures.