Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued that the death penalty is vital to discipline crime in the community. Otherwise, without capital, punishment the crime rate will increase, and people’s lives will be less safe. From my perspective, I completely agree with the argument because I believe it can have a deterrent effect on the crime player. In the following paragraph, this opinion will be discussed. In fact, only a few countries are implementing capital punishment because others believe that this kind of penalty is opposing the human rights regulation from the United Nations (UN). Additionally, several nations that have implemented the death penalty are North Korea, China, and Indonesia. For instance, in, Indonesia the death execution is implemented for the perpetrator related to terrorism and murders. It started around 2014, after a big terrorism incident known as Bom Bali in the early of 2000. Moreover, the violence rate of terrorism and murder dragged down and people in Indonesia feel secure because Indonesia is implementing this punishment. Furthermore, individuals believe that the regulation of the death penalty can prevent others from doing brutal actions. It is because they will think twice before they do the action, and they are not thinking about themselves but also their relatives or even their family. To illustrate, if someone becomes a perpetrator, they get a punishment from the criminal case that they have done. They will leave their family, and it means they will not be able to meet them which might affect their family’s life. Particularly for those who have the responsibility to support the family as a ‘head of family’. To summarize, I wholeheartedly agree with the opinion that capital punishment is needed to control crime and give a secure life to their people. Furthermore, the death penalty can impact the decline in violence rate and people will think twice about doing criminal action.