It is believed by many that those read for pleasure develop better imagination and language skills than people who prefer to watch TV. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that those who read for pleasure develop better imagination and language skills than people who prefer to watch TV. Considering the flexibility and effectiveness, I agree with this idea. Firstly, the fact that cultivating imagination and language ability by reading for pleasure is more efficient than by watching TV indicates that human beings who choose to read have better imagination and language skills than those who like to watch TV. To be more specific, the form of books to contain content is different from that of TV because the content on TV is shown by pictures or videos. However, this situation leads to that the space left for people to image is not enough. Furthermore, the subtitles on TV slide faster than the speed of people flipping through books, causing low efficiency in learning languages. As a result, individuals reading for pleasure have great imagination and language capacity. Secondly, the better imagination and language skills can be the person who likes to read instead of the one who likes to watch TV because the flexibility of books is better than that of TV. In other words, the size of books is smaller than that of TV, which means that people can carry them everywhere and can read at any time. For example, citizens can read materials in the metro. Nevertheless, watching cannot be done in the subway, which results in more time for people who tend to read to promote their imagination and language skills. Consequently, the public who select to read perform better in imagination and communication. In conclusion, although two ways, reading and watching TV, can be both used for cultivating the ability to communicate and to image, the advantages of reading for joy in enhancing imagination and language skills are evident.