In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

It is argued that before starting university, youngsters are better off taking one year to have occupancy or travel. In my opinion, when they skip going to University, they will not have a chance to graduate at a similar time with their friends, however it will be beneficial for someone with financial issues to gain extra money for tuition fees. There are some detrimental effects for students by postponing the exact time to enter university. Firstly, they may lose an opportunity to graduate in a same year as their previous classmate. This is because their friend who go to university after graduation will finish earlier than them. As a matter of fact, it stimulates negative effects such as not being enthusiastic enough to attend class because their new circle is totally different. Secondly, there might be a moment when they think they do not have to study because they already have such a well-paid job which is probably a potential job in the long run. For instance, trainers who recruited permanently by well-known companies such as Google might be will choose to continue to work rather than study. Therefore, having a year off from studying obviously will make young people not want to be involved in academic life. On the other hand, for those who suffer from economic issues, they tend to find a job. They will use that moment to earn money to support educational fees. For instance, some students from my country signed a contract to work on a tourist ship cruise for 3 or 6 months. Thus, they still have a chance to apply to their dream university. To conclude, everyone has their own right to choose between having a year break or continuing to enter university. Each of them has their own merits and demerits effect. Moreover, it will be more effective if students with financial issues take that chance.