Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football. But others think taking part in individual sports is better, like swimming. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the promotion of a healthy lifestyle, people nowadays are motivated to participate in a wide range of physical activities. However, there are different perspectives on which kinds of sports would bring the utmost advantages to individuals apart from improving general health. Some argue that team-based sports have more benefits compared to individual sports. From my point of view, both opinions have their own justifications and it is better for people to attend various activities in order to achieve well-being as well as personal development. On the one hand, it is justifiable why sports played in groups are beneficial. To begin with, team-based activities provide handy skills which are advantageous for people in their daily lives. The reason is when playing sports requiring teamwork like football, volleyball, basketball,..., players have to cooperate with each other so that they can score goals for their team. The second reason is conversations during the selective games can help players gain a better understanding of each other, hence, social skills such as communication, and interpersonal skills will be enhanced. Another point that can be taken into consideration is that playing in teams promotes team spirit and strengthens friendships. These are extremely useful for personal development, especially for children. Relationships which are built through these activities may last in the long term and can be useful for individuals' studies or careers in the future. A further point to make is playing in teams helps boost individual strengths and mitigates their weaknesses. On the other hand, there are numerous advantages that one can gain through personal sports such as swimming, chess, tennis or badminton. One benefit is that this type of sport facilitates independence, creativity and self-esteem. When playing alone, one has to come up with their own plan and strategies to win over another. Thus, some conflicts during games are avoided. Besides, the achievements gained from these sports can be a strong motivation for individuals as they are the result of individual discipline and effort. Another benefit is that these physical activities seem to suit those who are introverted and prefer working alone. If these people were forced to play in teams, they might not make the best use of their potential. In conclusion, each type of sport has its own merits for players. While team-based games value teamwork and communication skills, individual games promote independence and incentivise an individual to explore their own strength and potential. That is why I suppose no game can outweigh the other and decisions on playing which type of sports depends on different people.