In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

One of the widely discussed tendency nowadays is the decision of the students who decided to take a gap year. This essay will highlight the merits and demerits of this trend. To begin with, one evident benefit of taking a gap year is that it can help young people find their own vocation. In one year they will be able to have more fascinating experiences in outschool activities, accumulate knowledge, and acquire new skills, which would be useful for them in order to decide how to commence their future career. Another reason that an additional year would be advantageous is that it could give enough time to students so as to earn extra money. It is known that applying to foreign countries is a money-consuming process, and during the year applicants can be employed in a company to not face financial problems. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages. Firstly, it would make people to be feeble-minded and lazy towards their studies, because of the fact that one whole year is a long break from studying and high school students might become unmotivated to explore and may destroy the concentration of the students to enroll in university. Another possible issue is forgotten knowledge, as I wrote in the above paragraphs, one year is enough time to forget information. In fact, without consistent repetition of certain information it would be easy to overlook many details of profound knowledge. To conclude, although the decree of taking a year between finishing school and beginning university life bring many advantages such as interesting experience and enough time to earn money for application, it can also lead to future assessment of student because of lack of stable education throughout the year caused by taking a gap year.