Many people today prefer to socialize online rather than spend time with friends in the local community. To what extent do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

These days, a large amount of people prefer virtual communities than other realistic communities, such as spending time and hanging out with friends. I strongly advocate with those who agree that there are more advantages than disadvantages of online media. This essay will illustrate both the advantages and disadvantages of this argument. Needless to say, the benefits of virtual is enormous. Initially, It seems easier for people to find friends with the same interests on the internet than the real life. For instance, we can join any group that have a same mindset and make friends on that. Another point of this is people have the ability to tackle their mental problems, some adolescents agree that their online mates understand their feelings even more than their parents. A further point to discuss is about safety. Parents are afraid that their children to go outside due to the ability of robbers. An essential example of this argument is there are surveys that show some kids had been attacked by strangers when they were playing with their local friends. On the other hand, Online communities could limit children from having their childhood. The implication of this is youngsters growing up without contacting friends in real growth, and have no memory of their childhood activities. However, It relies on how much time those young kids spend on their virtual activities. If parents could control their children’s time schedule, and force them to balance real and online activity, It would make their adolescents grow up without any problems. To conclude, Today, social media, especially virtual communities are important to our lives, it has positive and negative attributes. However, It can be easy to balance and improve your life quality.