It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some would argue that people are born with talent in arts such as sports and music whereas others are of the opinion that any child can become successful if they are nurtured in that direction. Although talent makes learning easier, I am of the opinion that hard work, on the other hand, can also shape a young mind into achieving great heights. The debate of talent vs. hard work is an age-old discussion. In the olden days, society often believed that families with a history of art were born with talent. Children of famous musicians and sportsmen were encouraged and inspired from birth as talent was thought to be genetic. Although there is no evidence of this notion, this ideology has motivated some of the greatest artists towards success. For instance, Sitar artist Zakir Hussain was raised in a musician family and is believed to be born an artist. Although talent plays a role to some extent, hard work also matters. Most of the upcoming artists and players these days are often the result of perseverance. If someone is willing to put in the effort, it allows the individual to work harder, becoming stronger in the process. For example, Novak Djokovic, a Serbian tennis player with no inborn talent, now holds the record for 25 grand slams solely due to hard work and persistence. In conclusion, being a successful person in any aspect of life can depend on the individual's mindset. Some are talented and some work hard. In spite of talent being one of the factors determining a person’s success in a field, I believe that other factors like perseverance can also nurture a child into achieving greatness.