The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate locally produced food. To what extent does the advantage outweigh the disadvantage?

Some people believe there are many benefits in our environment and economy to consuming locally produced food items instead of being transported from other states or imported from foreign countries. I think, only eating locally produced food is more advantageous The main advantage of the intake of local food is that the economic level of village people will increase because these citizens depend more and more on agriculture and agriculture-related food production such as fruits, vegetables, milk and milk products. Due to that not only every individual but also rural become developed. For example, Sri Lanka is a developing country with 7% of GDP growth dependent on agricultural products and exporting materials related to agricultural goods such as rubber, Tea, cocoa and pepper. Another benefit is the comparatively lower price of agricultural goods and related products because food cost depends on manufacturing, storage and transport. If people stay on local foods no need for transport expenditure and storage cost is reduced. Alsoalso more benefits are citizens can consume chemical-free fruits and vegetables. If goods want to be stored for more days have to use preservatives consequently leading to a number of health problems such as allergies, cancer and indigestion. On the other hand, only eating rural foods has some drawbacks. One of the disadvantages is that due to the lack of knowledge, technology and weather conditions are not suitable for all varieties of food production. To illustrate this, strawberry farming needs a very cool climate and greenhouse condition if the temperature slightly increase may lead to disaster on the farm. Hence only available for limited fruits and vegetables lead to nutrient deficiency. To conclude, I believe, the intake of local items is more beneficial because improves lifestyle and health even though access to limited food and related products.