Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all times. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Few corporations insist their workers wear a uniform while at work. The advantage is that this promotes equality. However, this can lead to a decreasing quality of work, which is a drawback. Uniforms can promote equality among people. In other words, the same clothes, if worn by everyone, can decrease judgment. People are no longer discriminated for their looks. This is because a company might contain employees from different backgrounds and setting a standard for clothes is one way to bring everyone on to the same level of work. Employees need not worry about being overlooked based on their clothes as talent and hard work will be considered. For instance, employees at organisations with uniforms reported to have experienced no discrimination at their workplace. In spite of these benefits, there are a few disadvantages as well. Wearing the same clothes every day can be tedious and mind-numbing. A few people express themselves through their clothes and this rule often restricts their freedom. Furthermore, forcing everyone to wear a certain set of clothes often feels oppressive and limits the brain to function at optimum levels. This results in decreased enthusiasm towards work and in turn, productivity. For example, studies suggest that people who wear the same clothes every day are 10% less happy than the rest. In conclusion, uniforms decrease discrimination and bias in the workplace, resulting in people being judged solely based on their work. By contrast, they also affect the quality of their work, leading to decreased productivity in the long run.