High job demands, stress and sense of commitment are among the main reasons people go to work when they are ill. This way they accomplish important tasks, but may infect others or get some serious health problems themselves. In your opinion should people go to work if they are sick?

It is considered by many that well-paid jobs often expect employees to handle work pressure and provide full-time availability which makes people work even if they are not feeling well. As a result, the illness would either become severe or spread to other workers which would cause critical health issues. In my opinion, I believe that employees who are not feeling well should be offered to work from home considering the serious consequences. Firstly, I would suggest that people should give priority to their health than earning money. In other words, without a strong body and,mind we would not be able to concentrate on the assigned tasks which would eventually end up in failure. Furthermore, employers should utilise the advent of technology by providing options like remote work to their workers at least during emergency situations. However, it is understandable that certain professions such as doctors and nurses whose requirements cannot be remediated by others. But considering the benefits of technology we can still make it possible with online consultations and video conferences. Secondly, there is a major impact depending on the type of infection the person has because it might aggravate the disease for them as well as for their co-workers. For instance, COVID-19 started as an influenza virus but later the severity reached maximum limits causing hundreds of deaths. Considering the consequences it is advisable that organisations should have an alternate plan for their people in order to maintain the wellbeing of everyone. In conclusion, I strongly believe that people should take good care if they are feeling well rather than provoking the infection by coming to the job. In addition, employers should provide backup options such as working from home during critical times considering the safety of all.