In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the recent past, buyers have started buying from large shopping complexes for day shopping which has resulted in the closure of local stores. Although people can buy multiple items in a place, I believe that it is a negative development because small shopkeepers contribute more to a nation's economy. On the one hand, people can buy multiple items under one roof. In other words, there are numerous shops in shopping malls thus people save time by buying multiple utility items in one area. For instance, in many shopping complexes, there are shops for clothing and groceries under one roof, and as a result, it saves buyers time. However, in my opinion, it is only helping corporates to make huge money. On the other hand, small shopkeepers help more in the overall growth of an economy. This is because there are numerous local merchants who pay huge taxes to the government, and they also provide jobs to uneducated employees. For example, in India, almost seventy per cent of the total number of employees work in local shops which boosts the economy of the country. Therefore, in my opinion, buying from local merchants is beneficial for the nation's economic growth. In conclusion, in the last few years, people have bought more from shopping malls compared to small merchants. Even though in large malls buyers can buy multiple things in an area, in my opinion, it is a negative improvement since local vendors contribute more to the nation's development such as paying taxes and employing uneducated workers.