Is learning to speak a foreign language as important these days as it was in the past? Write an essay giving your opinion.

In the past, learning a second language was important in the individual's everyday life. However, I think that nowadays it is more crucial to know a foreign language than it was in the last years. On the one hand, a while back, knowing a second language was really helpful. This skill helped people to speak with individuals from other countries, to make international deals, and also to sell goods. For example, a German man who knew Romanian could make a deal with the Romanian society only because he knew the language. Moreover, back then, individuals who knew more than one language were considered intelligent and from a high social class. On the other hand, these days it is more important to know a foreign language. Nowadays, people can not travel or buy things from the internet without knowing a second language. By only knowing their native tongue, it is really hard to visit other countries because there are small chances that those from there will understand your language. For example, for a girl who speaks only Romanian, it will be very hard to travel and get along with the community from Ukraine, because she will not be able to obtain what she wants. Furthermore, when the population buy things from the internet, the description of the product is usually in English so, without knowing this second language it will be hard for them to purchase the right product. In conclusion, I believe that even though a while back it was useful for people to know another language besides their native one, these days it is more crucial, not only because society travels more,but also because the description of products is written in a foreign tongue.