Some people think space research is a waste of money. The government should spend that money on the improvement of people’s living conditions. What is your opinion on this IELTS topic?

Acquiring more knowledge about space is becoming an area of interest to some people. Even so, some individuals have expressed disregard for government funding for space experimentation. Rather, they opine such monies should be used to upgrade the living standards of people. I agree with this. To begin with, carrying out studies on space is expensive. Besides this, the knowledge gained beyond the borders of the earth is just for personal satisfaction. To illustrate this, the first astronaut, Sir William, described the expensive rockets and other logistics that were required to embark on that journey. He explained that he exhausted the wealth saved for over 10 generations in his family as well as government support to make it possible. His return, however, we all know is just stories of what he saw which has in no way benefited mankind. Therefore, why spend so much money on research that will not impact our lives positively? It is truly evident, experimenting space is to satisfy individual curiosity. As such I agree it is not a necessary area to receive financial support from the government. On the other hand, the government has very important projects like education and improving the health sector to fulfil. For instance, it is well known the significant impact education and health have on the quality of lives of people. Education is an eye-opening field, that equips nationals to pursue careers that will make the country better. Similarly, the well-being of the members of society will allow people to have the strength to carry out tasks expected of them. It will eliminate absenteeism from work and school. Investing in these areas will definitely yield productive outcomes. Hence, I agree the citizens encourage the government to prioritize significant projects that will improve the living conditions of the people of the country and promote the growth of the economy. To sum up, although researching space sounds like a good idea, it is nothing but to fulfil a personal interest as a result, government funding should aim at making the lives of the citizens better.