In today’s very competitive world, a worker has to possess multiple skills to succeed. Among the skills that a worker should possess, Which skill do you think is more important, social skills or good qualification? Explain the reasons and provide specific examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, the workforce market has become very competitive, forcing employees to obtain more skill sets but some people believe that no matter the skill, having a good educational background is more important. I agree that good qualification is important to become successful. First of all, a good qualification shows the intellectual strength of an individual. Also, it enables access to profitable jobs. Gaining proper education helps the worker apply the knowledge learned in the university thus leading to better performance in their work. A good example is medical doctors, in order to be certified as a doctor a compulsory requirement is to attain a medical degree from a university. In doing so, they have adequate and precise knowledge to aid them in their medical practice. Thus, making them well-equipped for their profession. Furthermore, it gives the employees the right to negotiate for better salaries and good work conditions as compared to an individual without any educational backing. However, having the right skill set is still necessary for an employee who works among persons of varied cultural or ethnic backgrounds. Social skills such as communication, teamwork and leadership are essential. Take for instance, in a work setting where an employee is put in charge of a big project and has to work with other employees from different departments of the company. An employee who lacks social skills will find it difficult to interact and engage coworkers which can lead to bad work performance and may be loss of leadership roles going forward which can hinder promotion. In conclusion, I believe that possessing a degree and owning social skills are important but the benefits of a degree outweigh the social skill set.