Many food are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages.

Importation has become an integral part of our lives today. Several goods are transported from one country to the other for human survival. The vast food commodities that are sent to various countries have generated some concerns. People opine consuming national delicacies is more environmentally friendly and saves money. I think eating To begin with, going for locally produced meals affords us the main advantage of consuming fresh healthy meals. To illustrate this, it is widely known that eating food substances that have not been altered is necessary for acquiring the required nutrients for human growth and development. This is not the case with imported meals which are infused with chemicals to withstand the weather variations in other countries as well as a prolonged shelf life. Experts have reported taking in such foods only fills our bellies and nothing more. Meanwhile, beyond getting full, we eat to improve our health and gain energy. It is clear consuming imported meals has no or very limited health benefits. In addition, making purchases of the products from our local farms generates national income and is cheaper. For instance, buying foodstuff grown by native farmers is a way of preventing financial losses as the items will run quickly on the market. It will fetch them some profit to continue in their field of work. Similarly, there wouldn't be the need for societal folks to indirectly pay for transport and preservative fees which are incorporated into imported diets. This means the citizens spending less on food and also promoting the farming business. The farmers will in turn pay taxes to the government. It is clear these taxes will contribute to the economic development of the country. On the other hand, shipping food from one country to another is not environmentally friendly. For example, scientists have reported the negative disturbance caused by ships on aquatic life. Some fishes lose their lives or migrate to safer environments. Meanwhile, moving goods from one nation to another takes months. This means more destruction to living creatures in water bodies for that period of time. This is not a one-time problem. The consequent effect is we lose out on the proteinaceous nutrients fishes offer in our diets. Therefore, such practice should not be encouraged. To sum up, it is obvious that sticking to being content with locally produced foods have more benefits than the drawback that comes with food importation.