Some people think that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the government instead of private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although we all know that science and technology are the driving forces for the development of society, the power of control has obtained the great attention of the public. Considering the economy and effectiveness, I totally agree that the power of control should be held in the government. Firstly, the fact that the efficiency of carrying out research and development by the nation is higher than by private companies indicates that the country should be in the dominant status. To be more specific, the government, which is a highly-centred power system, have more resources to allocate compared with enterprises which are established by a citizen or one interest group, leading to it having more efficiency in dealing with issues in the process of research and development. For example, private companies do not have the right to use some rural minerals for research. As a result, the government should be the one to control and conduct scientific experiments. Secondly, the nation should conduct and take control of scientific research rather than private enterprises because the economic strength of the government is stronger than that of individual enterprises. In other words, every person who lives in the country is a taxpayer and has the responsibility of giving financial support for the development of the nation. In comparison, the sources of private companies for finance are limited. Therefore, it is extremely normal that scientific research cannot continue midway due to a shortage of funds. Consequently, from an economic perspective, scientific research should also be conducted by the government. In conclusion, the government has advantages in both economic and efficiency aspects that are vital for scientific research, so it should take the lead in such research.