Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as older houses in the local area. Others disagree and say that local authorities should allow people to build houses in the styles of their own choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that new houses which are being built in the local residential areas should remain as the older houses whereas others argue that residents should be given the free will to restructure their homes in the way they want. I agree with the latter. Most local residential areas have been present for decades, which unknowingly has led to these areas becoming cultural heritages. Furthermore, preserving housing styles also helps the residents to cherish the memories created in the vicinity. These sites can also serve as tourist centres for either foreigners or non- residents thus generating money which will help maintain the buildings. Rebuilding houses with modern style in local areas can cause class segregation. For example,if a wealthy person decides to build a modern house in a local residential area where middle-class residents live, there will be socio-economic class segregation. Additionally, this building style is cost-effective because the older structures do not need modern technology or state-of-the-art machines for construction. However, sufficient manpower is essential for work to be fast and accurate. To illustrate this, a lot of manpower is needed to build blocks and carry heavy objects on site whereas a machine can single-handedly carry these tasks out with ease. However, modern homes built in local residential areas distort the aesthetics of the community. Also, it requires strenuous planning and high budgets are usually allocated to these constructions. Even if, individuals are given the choice to remodel their houses just the way they want, the process is time-consuming this is because they’ll need the approval of the government before commencing. It can also cause conflicts within the residents and this may lead to discord and disunity in the community. In conclusion, in my opinion, individuals who wish to build modern houses can be allocated separate areas.