some people think that government should spend more money on sports facilities for top athletes.others argue that this money should be spent on sports facilities for ordinary people.discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Sports is an activity that unites us globally. It serves multiple purposes like health promotion as well as a source of entertainment. Government funding of sports has generated an argument. A group suggests these funds should be spent on the sports facilities for highly skilled athletes. Whilst another group opines that these monies should rather be used on sports facilities for ordinary people. This essay seeks to analyse both views. I will give my opinion in the course of the essay. To begin with, since renowned sportsmen in our nations make a huge financial contribution to our society, it is important for the national authorities to fund their logistics. For instance, the Black Stars of Ghana comprise highly talented footballers who have been put together to form a national team. These individuals represent Ghana during the World Cup and the further they go during the tournament, the higher the earnings they make. These huge salaries which they make are commonly spent, establishing private businesses in Ghana. These businesses create job opportunities for the numerous unemployed folks. Besides these, the now-working members of the country pay taxes to the government as well as the business owners most of whom are footballers. It is therefore clear that, when the government invests in the national players, it improves their performances and makes them highly competitive. The result of this is making huge incomes which they eventually give back to society. Hence, I am of the opinion that the government channels funds to support top athletes. On the other hand, national authorities have more pressing projects to pursue than to spend on upcoming athletes. To illustrate this, sports facilities are constantly present. And novice sportsmen can hook up to the top sportsmen as their mentors. By so doing, it will be easier for these ordinary athletes to receive some training from the already experienced seniors. These trainings can take place at the already established sports facilities for the expert athletes or even at local parks. This will save the government some money to be spent on more important projects such as education and health. It is obvious law-making bodies need not spend additional income on building sports centres for ordinary trainees when they can make use of the already existing ones for the highly professional trainees. Therefore, I am of the view that it is not necessary for the government to invest income in sports facilities for ordinary athletes. To sum up, undoubtedly, sports is a beneficial activity in multiple regards. I am of the opinion that the government should spend on expert sportsmen who will in turn make financial gains that will help develop the economy of our country.