Some people think that mental strength is more important for success in sport. Some believe physical health is more important. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate regarding the skills necessary for atheletes to possess in order to succeed in sports. Many find their mental stamina is the key in sports while others argue that their fitness matters more. In this essay, I will discuss both views and present my own opinion at the end. To begin with, an athlete must be physically fit in order to endure extreme muscle movements for a long period of time. For example, a game of tennis between professionals may run for six hours and cause severe exhaustion if the players are not fit enough to handle that amount of bodily stress. Besides, if the players do not have sufficient energy then they will be unable to make any movements and completely fail to perform the sport. So there is logic to claim that the fitness of the body is beneficial for atheletes to win. However, there is another side of the debate too. This side argues that rather than fitness, atheletes must be mentally strong to be victorious in their games. To illustrate, when a player is losing the match midway, he or she must not become frustrated and give up the game but continue to fight using their mental strength. Hence, it is not only enough to play the game but to play it with a determined and strategic mindset. This is why many consider that the mental capacity of atheletes is more important than their physical capacity. To conclude, there are valid grounds to argue both views due to the aforementioned reasons. Although it may be argued that both skills are complementary to each other, I still think that an athlete's fitness is more crucial than their mentality. If the players can't move, then there is no need for their minds to be strong in the first place.