Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention at school. What are the reasons? What could be done to solve this problem?

In this day and age, more and more students are coping with many problems related to concentration and attention when studying or doing anything required, especially at school. There are several causes of this alarming trend, but measures could certainly be taken to tackle the issue. There are several reasons why a large number of children have difficulties concentrating when studying at school. Firstly, students have to spend most of their time learning many essential things from necessary subjects to practical skills not only at school but also in extra classes in order to absorb lessons comprehensively and pass the exams with flying colors. This has caused a lack of sleep and nutrition in students, making it difficult for them to focus on what their teachers say in class in recent years. The second factor is related to intelligent devices such as smartphones which play an important role in distraction. Thus, they have a tendency to put more emphasis on surfing the Internet or chatting with their friends instead of paying more attention to their lessons. For instance, the majority of students in Vietnam have to learn around 13 subjects at school and go to extra classes after school, so they often have to do their homework very late, resulting in a lack of alertness the following day and an inability to concentrate on class lessons. There are several actions that governments and individuals could take to solve the problems described above. One good approach to decreasing inattention is that parents and teachers should promote their offspring's healthy eating and good sleep habits, including plenty of fruits, vegetables, and whole grains to provide their bodies with nutrition. Furthermore, parents can limit their screen time by turning off devices’ notifications during their study time and giving them a serene place to focus on learning. In conclusion, it is clear that a lack of concentration can have a detrimental impact on children’s education. I believe that it is essential for both parents and teachers to join hands and put more effort into focusing and memorizing in the best way.