The best way to solve traffic and transportation problems is to encourage people to live in cities rather than suburbs or countryside. What extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

Some people argue that encouraging people to live in cities rather than suburbs is the best way to solve traffic and transportation problems. In this essay, I will explain to what extend I agree or disagree. Living in the cities has several advantages including closer distance to main facilities, such as shopping mall, office galleries, and hospital, which enable people to save both time and effort doing their daily activities. However, I don't think this closer distance will significantly solve the traffic and transportation problems. My main reason is because, generally, traffic and transportation problems arise when the number of vehicles are significantly higher than the road capacity. Hence, even if the distance is close, the traffic will still be there if the road capacity is not sufficient. In contrast, I think that having people live in certain area only, which is the city, will make the traffic worse because people will be commuting in a specific roads within a specific time. To sum up, I don't think where people live, either in city or suburbs, has strong correlation with congestion and transportation issues. Instead, the ratio between the number of vehicle and road capacity plays more important role here. If we want to solve the issues, it is better for government to 1) ensure that the public transportation is convenient and affordable so people prefer to take it rather than personal vehicle, and 2) encourage people to use their personal vehicle efficiently, such as using 1 car for a family, rather than each person in the family use their individual car separately.