Studying art in school improves students' performance in other subjects, because it is easier for multi-skilled students to learn new things. That's why art should be obligatory in schools. Do you agree or disagree?

It is considered that art is an essential part of school education due to its favourable effect on student’s achievement. I absolutely agree with the statement and believe that art studies can be a key factor in the holistic development of children. Therefore, this essay will explore two arguments to advocate my point of view. Firstly, if students regularly read any kind of literature, it helps them to enhance their logical and critical thinking skills. The plot, character’s actions and even the author’s biography provide students with a number of facts, showing that the world is an interconnected system. Thus, students collect and analyse information, comprehend reasons and consequences, learn how to ask the right questions and come up with final results. Obviously, these skills are undeniably useful in other humanities as well as for future performance in the workplace or at university. Secondly, there are considerable number of research, underscoring the importance of music in the study of mathematics. For instance, music makes everyone practice a multi-tasking approach, synchronizing body and brain, and think one step ahead. Therefore, students, who are able to play the piano or sing in the choir, report a higher level of concentration and speed during math, physics lessons or computer science. In conclusion, art amplifies opportunities for students and gives the deepest insights into the world, expanding their horizons. Consequently, music, literature or other types of art should be included in the school curriculum in order to support the development of contemporary hard and soft skills.