Some people think zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Just like how a coin has two sides, the debate on whether zoos must be present is also two-sided. While some say zoos are torturous to animals, others believe that zoos are important for protecting animals, especially endangered species. I unequivocally believe that zoos must be present but must be used only during certain necessary circumstances. On the one hand, zoos are compared to human prisons. This is because the animals are stuck between four walls throughout their life and their movements are restricted. Moreover, zoos have reduced interspecies and intraspecies interactions, which are prevalent in the wild hence causing distress to species. In nature, species are dependent on each other and are connected via numerous food webs. Subsequently, if animals are removed from the wild, it causes an imbalance in the food web, thus affecting other species. For example, in 2020 when the Indian government started conserving otters, the alligator population faced a decline due to the fewer food sources available for them to consume. On the other hand, zoos have helped conserve threatened and critically endangered species such as the Dodo bird and the Red Panda. Due to climate change, many species are finding it difficult to adapt to their changing habitat. As a result, their numbers are reducing. Zoos have helped these species by providing them with apt conditions necessary for their survival. Furthermore, the concept of getting killed by a predator is no longer a concern. For instance, the parrot population has increased by 50% over the past 10 years, due to captive breeding and reintroduction programs done by zoos. In conclusion, zoos can be a boon when used out of necessity and a bane when misused. In my opinion, species need to be free in the wild unless they are threatened with extinction, in which case zoos work wonders.