Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later. Some people think that having these people give a talk to school students is the best way to tell them about the dangers of committing a crime. Do you agree or disagree

It is true that imprisonment helps the offenders to develop an acceptable character in society and family. Even though ex-criminals can teach about the consequences of crime very clearly, I am of the opinion that they are not role models for teenagers because various reasons. To start with, teenagers should not learn the effects of illegal activities from ex-lawbreakers as this way of learning may generate a tendency to imitate such activities in children’s minds, especially those who have a lack of maturity and curiosity. Moreover, since ex-offenders have a past history of crime, they are not ideal individuals to teach the younger generation effectively. Social stigma is another factor, which means that social leaders often try to keep away the ex-prisoners from the mainstream of society owing to social status issues. Consequently, they are forced to engage in criminal activities repeatedly and they also are terribly isolated. Again, each society has its own prestigious law enforcement system to promote legal awareness in children, which is more effective teaching than learning from the ex-offenders. As such, ex-prisoners are not required to guide teenagers in spite of jail life experience for a certain period of time. Indeed, principals of the schools can conduct public speeches by people who did great work for society and it is said that their preachings can be beneficial for the children. An ideal example would be the organisation of awareness programmes of the police department in school settings in India. To conclude, despite certain advantages, criminals cannot be effective mentors in teaching the ill effects of offences due to many challenges instead public speeches can be given by well-known role models.