Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

In today’s world, there is a growing concern about crime rate in many countries. A lot of criminals tend to commit more crimes after being sentenced first time. This essay will explore factors of re-offending and explain why rehabilitation and reintegration might be the keys for overcoming this issue. There are might be a couple of reasons why this is happening. Firstly, one of the main reasons is the lack of rehabilitation programs and the opportunity to retrain and learn new skills for the future. As a result, after prisoners have completed their sentences, they do not have jobs and financial support from the government. Consequently, committing crime again is becoming only way to survive. Secondly, being in society with others offenders may show an example a culture of violence behaviour seems normal and may develop negative attitudes towards authority. In addition, it is ubiquitous for prisoners fighting and blaming each other. To deal with this issue, the government priority is to take some measures to mitigate the problem. For instance, providing financial and psychological support for ex-criminals can help them get back in society. When former offenders have a chance to reintegrate back in the social life and not be treated as marginals, they are less likely to reoffend. In conclusion, it is crucial to ensure that people who have been sentenced get the support they may need to turn their lives around. By doing this, we can reduce the chances of then committing more crimes again, making more safe for everyone.