Before students go to college, some students are encouraged to work or travel for a year, known as the gap year. Do you think this is a good idea?

Nowadays, many youngsters are given a chance to roam around the world or have a decent job before they enter university. This offers them the opportunity to immerse themselves in real-life situations. However, there are pros and cons in deciding to do this. This essay will discuss why I do not agree with the above notion and some of the reasons. On one hand, engaging young students to have the freedom to travel and to have their own financial income before proceeding to their studies can help them broaden their horizons as well as mould their financial management in the future. What I mean by this is,that one year of out-of-school youth can teach them how to earn cash with their own hard work and perseverance. Aside from that, they can also explore the world using their own budget. For instance, many social influencers now are in their teens. They are earning a hefty amount of money through their online jobs or making videos. Moreover,at a young,age they already know how to hustle and know the importance of wealth. They can use their hard-earned fund to support themselves and their own studies as well. In addition,they can all have the freedom to go abroad even without their parent's support. On the other hand, in spite of all the advantages it provides,not going to school for too long can have detrimental effects on a child's developmental growth. To be more precise, motivation and determination to continue schooling may not be given importance. Since, they may think that they already have enough funds with their recent jobs, and so may question the purpose of education. For instance, many young entrepreneurs focus more on improving their business and marketing strategies without having the plan to finish college or achieve a bachelor's degree. They spend most of their time at work and other responsibilities. This leads to their perceptions that they are the CEO of their life now and so studying is not a priority. I strongly disagree with letting pupils have the time of their lives without even starting college as this may have a great impact on their own decision-making and cannot fathom balancing work and study. However, there are some who can manage this kind of situation especially those who suffer from poverty. To sum up, having a gap year is not essential for a child's growth. You need to weigh up the drawbacks that it causes a lack of interest and will to finish studies and devalues the sense of going to school since they are wealthy already and the pros, that it thus helps them see life for themselves and help with their budgeting skills. Nevertheless, children should prioritize education over anything else.