Nowadays there is a growing amount of advertising aimed at children. Some people think this has negative effects on children and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays there is a growing amount of advertising aimed at children. Some people think this has negative effects on children and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree? At present, more advertisements are made for children than before, and many people believe that this poses many bad impacts on our kids, so they should be prohibited. I completely agree with this statement, for most advertising of this sort has detrimental effects on children ’s physical health and their mental development. First of all, some advertising has been known to be implicated in many health problems among children, such as fast food advertisements. Food corporations promote their products using glamorous images of perfectly cooked meat, or alluring soda cans that are attractive-looking and perfectly fit child actors. Some parents and children, as a result, are subconsciously enticed by those ads and end up buying them for regular consumption which, as a lot of research has pinpointed, is closely associated with many serious health problems such as obesity, cardiovascular diseases and diabetes. Additionally, early exposure to consumerism may negatively impact children's mental development. It is not uncommon to encounter cases of kids begging their parents, asking for new items such as a new doll, an AI robot or a drone advertised on TV. Research has shown that many children who develop such attitudes may either have an inferiority complex or grow up being too demanding and materialistic if their requests are not answered. In conclusion, I firmly believe that advertising aimed at children should be banned because it has a negative impact on their physical and mental well-being. As adults, we have the power to stop this and let our children grow up free from the pressures of consumerism until they are old enough to make their own decisions.