Today, many people do not know their neighbours in large cities. What problems does this cause? What can be done about this?

In the modern world, most people seem to have little knowledge about their neighbours in metropolitan cities. This can be attributed to the hectic lifestyles of some people and poor community design. By organizing gathering events and refurbishing the metropolitan design, this situation can be improved. Most people lead hectic lifestyles, spending most of their time working and studying, meaning that they fail to interact with their next-door neighbours or even with their friends. Even if they find some time, they take advantage of it by spending time with their families or focusing on their personal and professional lives. All of these factors contribute to people neither having the desire nor the time to communicate with their neighbours. In addition, poor community design might be a problem, making it difficult to communicate among neighbours. To be precise, there is a lack of amenities, such as playgrounds and gardens, which restricts the opportunity to get to know each other in some neighbourhoods. However, there are sensible measures to tackle the problem. Firstly, social events should be organized in neighbourhoods. By putting more importance on the organization of social events, people may start to interact with each other as well as form a strong bonds among neighbours. Navruz can be an example in Uzbekistan. Dwellers in most neighbourhoods celebrate this national holiday by cooking a national dish (sumalak), dancing, and having lavish foods on tables, which as a result might be a way to promote unity within the neighbourhood relationships. Another solution is to take a radical approach to reforming urban design in some parts of cosmopolitan cities. For instance, creating more shared spots, such as gardens and playgrounds, can improve the likelihood of neighbours meeting up with each other often. In conclusion, the major reasons why some people lack social interaction with their neighbours are their busy schedules and inappropriate environments that have little to do with their relationships with their neighbours. Nevertheless, once people find the motivation to get to know each other through the organization of events and a wide range of amenities, it becomes easier to socialize with their neighbours.