Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspapers remain the main source of news for the majority of people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The unprecendented growth of social media currently takes the advantage compared to other information channels. Even though most people still read newpapers in their daily life, I believe that majority are getting their daily updates by social media dominantly. In my point of view, I moderately disagree with the old-fashioned newspapers to keeping abreast to news. On one hand, social media no doubt that revolutionise various industries for several years, which mostly regards to the younger generations who has grown with computers and smartphones, resulting in authors and journalists to spend time and effort on online news rather than hard-copy ones. Beyond that, another reason for Internet to get popular is to obtaining latest news with objective perspectives, because of the free-speech area that internet ensures society while adults commute their work. For instance, most political news in developing countries are mainly and firstly get forbidden in Internet rather than newspapers. Another reason is, online news offer people a nonstop source and opportunity for society to criticize objectively, rather than sided journalists. On the other hand, newspaper industry creates enourmous amount of paper waste at the end of the day which has a negative environmental impact on climate crisis. Although there are sustainable improvements such as biodegradable paper alternatives, papermaking industry ought to keep accountable, unless governments track their waste disposal. In addition, it could be a beneficial step to combat paper waste and curb the excess amount of paper production. In conclusion, I believe that getting informed via internet are getting more and more common and traditional newspapers will be obselete in the following years. Therefore, I argued upsides and downsides of printed- news and explained why I moderately disagree on count newspapers as main sources of new.