Space exploration costs tax payers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

In this digitally advanced era, many countries are spending millions on space research, and this amount mostly belongs tp the treasury of the country, that consists of money earned from taxes. Although these achievements in astro-physics helps to decode the unsolved questions of our solar system, it certainly does not solve any issue related with the citizens. On the one hand, space exploration is an important landmark of the development journey for any country in the world. Furthermore, a successful mission, by these research organisations, plays vital role in solving the mystry of the universe. Additionally, such exploration becomes the pride for the nation that gets appreciated everywhere. The Mangal Mission of India, for instance, was the only Mars journey which they achieved in the first try, and it was welcomed by the whole world. On the other hand, many regions of the world need to focus on their internal problems on priority but the rulers of such areas are intereasted in investing their big portion of the budget on exploring the stars. Though there is no impact on the nation's development after launching any rocket to the sky, some governments are hungry fir the respect from the world. Consequently, a hard earned money of every citizen is getting wasted on such useless experiments. For example, in Moscow, protests on the large scale were seen when Russia was launching their moon mission in July 2023 because of the billions of rubels rebels were getting used for it during the war situation. To conclude, knowing the unsolved part of universe is an acceptable as well as respectful achievement for the country. On the contrary, such a wecomed welcome result is not going to improve anything for the citizens of that country.