Space exploration costs tax payers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration

In this digitally advanced era, many countries are spending millions on space research every year, and this amount mostly belongs to the treasury of the country, which consists of money earned from taxes. Although these achievements in astrophysics help to decode the unsolved questions of our solar system, it certainly does not solve any issue related to the citizens. On the one hand, space exploration is an important landmark of the development journey for any country in the world. Furthermore, a successful mission, by these research organisations, plays a vital role in solving the mystery of the universe. Additionally, such exploration becomes the pride for the nation that gets appreciated everywhere. The Mangal Mission of India, for instance, was the only Mars journey which they achieved on the first try, and it was welcomed by the whole world. On the other hand, many regions of the world need to focus on their internal problems on priority but the rulers of such areas are interested in investing a big portion of the budget in exploring the stars. Though there is no impact on the nation's development after launching any rocket into the sky, some governments are hungry for respect from the world. Consequently, the hard-earned money of every citizen is getting wasted on such useless experiments. For example, in Moscow, protests on a large scale were seen when Russia launched their moon mission in July 2023 because billions of rubles were getting used for it during the war situation. To conclude, knowing the unsolved part of the universe is an acceptable as well as respectful achievement for the country. On the contrary, such a welcomed result is not going to improve anything for the citizens of that country.