Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that the biggest environmental problem nowadays is the disappearance of some specific species of animals and plants, while others think that there are more important issues related to the environment. Personally, I agree with the latter and will explain my reasons in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, the extinction of particular plants and animals has disrupted the ecological system, which means that different species in the world are dependent on each other. For instance, research shows that if a specific type of fish die, it might lead to the death of some other types of fishes, which causes damages to the ecosystem. Moreover, some plant species are also in danger of dying out especially in places that are prone to fire. For example, every year in Canada, several forest fires occur, which is believed to threaten the existence of some kinds of plants that many birds and insects feed on for their survival. If these species go extinct, the life of many other creatures will be endangered. However, the most alarming situation about the environment is global warming and air pollution. It not only affects the particular plants and animals, but also may threaten human life on the planet. In fact, due to rising temperatures the polar icebergs are melting at an unprecedented rate and many countries are experiencing severe droughts. As a result, some coastal cities might submerge due to a rise in sea levels and many countries might be forced to struggle with famine and starvation in the near future. In addition, unclean air in big cities has caused many respiratory problems and diseases among residents. This evidence shows that tackling this serious issue should be prioritized over other problems. In conclusion, I believe that although the loss of different species of flora and fauna should be taken seriously, global warming and air pollution are much more pressing issues that we need to address seriously.