Some children spend a long time each day on their smartphones. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Some juveniles spend most of their time on smartphones. This is because they find streaming videos engrossing, but this can have negative consequences because they can distract children from family life. Minors love spend most of their time on mobile devices because streaming services have many entertaining videos. This means they have endless opportunities to entertain themselves and spend their entire day consuming new shows without thinking. For example, many videos on Netflix are aimed at children, some of which designed their titles and thumbnails to entice children to click on one more video. As a result, they spend their free time in front of a screen instead of participating in physically involved games such as, basketball and cricket. Despite them being heavily enjoyed by children, this essay believes they should be viewed negatively because of the impact it has on time with parents and siblings. Being around one’s nuclear family teaches children many important things, such as social values, manners and how to treat others. If a child misses these opportunities, they could grow up to have impaired social skills and take their values from YouTubers rather than parents. For instance, one of the most popular personalities on YouTube is Andrew Tate, who is well known for being arrogant and having unethical interviews that are highly appreciated by audiences. In conclusion, videos on mobiles may be irresistible to those under 18. However, parents should restrict screen time as much as possible to limit the harmful effect influencers can have on their son’s or daughter’s upbringing.