New technologies have changed the way children spend their leisure time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The latest technologies have given children a new direction to spend their free time. Although this can reduce their socialisation skills with friends and family members, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages because this trend helps to develop children's brains and improve learning skills. The main drawback of this trend is that it reduces their socialisation skills with their friends and family members. This is to say that children often occupy their time by accessing social media like Facebook and Instagram via high-speed internet; they communicate with them through video calls and messages rather than face-to-face communication; therefore, they decline their power to make cordial relationships with people at home and with neighbours in society. For example, UNICEF has found that children spend their valuable 4 hours every day on social media to text their friends and neighbours for communication purposes; subsequently, they are not able to mingle with others. However, I believe that parents can give their children some time limits for surfing the internet and using social media. The main benefit of using newer technologies in their leisure time is that it helps develop their brain. This is because children play video games and operate various software, which requires different mathematical equations to solve. Therefore, this process helps brain cell growth and increases memory power. For example, children who handle PCs frequently to play video games have the ability to solve more mathematical equations than kids who do not operate PCs. Moreover, children accelerate their learning skills by operating various websites to find out information regarding their theory and practical subjects. Therefore, in my opinion, children get more benefits from the latest technologies when they are used in their free time; thus, the advantages outnumber the disadvantages. In conclusion, despite the drawback of decreasing their socialisation skills, I believe that children get more benefits from newer technologies in their leisure time because they develop their brains.