The Internet has as many disadvantages as it does advantages. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The internet has become a cornerstone of modern life as it enhances communication and data -sharing processes. I agree with the statement that it has numerous disadvantages like privacy concerns, fraudulent websites and unauthenticated information, which are not less than its advantages. To begin with, the internet has multifarious demerits for both the social and professional world. Foremost, since a number of websites require the personal data of customers before signing up, this can be easily hacked by hackers. World Cyber Crime Department situated in the UK, for instance, published in its annual report in May 2015 that no sooner did a virus named ransomware attack Facebook than the data and personal images of 1.5 million users went viral. Thus, such leaks can be life-threatening to the users because they can be tracked and kidnapped. In addition, not only do unauthenticated websites provide misleading information but also fake offers and ads gear up the chance of monetary loss of customers. Thus, criminal-minded people can easily edit such websites and use these against the users. On the other side, the internet does have merits, which can never be undermined. Primary, it has tremendously increased the speed of communication channels. For example, after the introduction of online video calls, people now can connect to their family members, friends and colleagues from anywhere. For example, Zoom internet calling software has the ability to connect 1000 users in an online call. This feature is surreal as individuals can talk and see their loved ones even though they live in distant countries. What is more, the internet ’s feature of email comes along with many privileges where it can transfer data quickly and can send a huge amount of data in compressed folders like zip folders. To conclude, I advocate that the internet has as many demerits as its merits though to some extent, its effectiveness may be differentiated as per the requirement of the users.