Communication through text messaging and other instant forms of online communication are short and basic. Some people think this will be death of grammar and spelling. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As online communication increases its popularity, where people often exchange information with concise and fundamental messages, some people are concerned about the death of grammar and spelling. I partially agree with this, for there is growing pressure to respond instantly to establish an intimate relationship regardless of an increasing volume of information promoting their comprehension of lexical resources. On the one hand, the importance of grammar and spelling is more neglected as people are more encouraged to respond quickly in online communication. In other words, short as well as simple writing is preferred since it facilitates conversations. For instance, the use of a hush tag is increasingly popular among young adults in gathering related information about famous restaurants and movies. Thus, their understanding of grammar and spelling seems to be inferior to that of seniors, leading to their disappearance in the near future. On the other hand, grammar and spelling will remain significant in the age of mass information as people are more expected to understand critical messages. Indeed, the knowledge of sentence structures and vocabulary will be highly demanded by future generations so they can keep up with the latest trends. Furthermore, failing to understand lexical and grammatical rules can lead to misunderstanding and confusion, which can corrupt relationships. That is the reason why current education stresses the importance of grammar and spelling as schools provide more courses of comprehensive writing to advance these skills. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that the prevalent use of short and basic words in online communication leads to the death of grammar and spelling as young people tend to rely on incomplete sentences and signals, which facilitate conversations. However, the growing need to process mass information makes them more aware of their importance.