Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a 'gap year', before they begin work or univeristy and see it as a chance to broaden their hoizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Write at least 250 words

The spare time before beginning work or university can be a valuable time for travelling to obtain numerous of experiences. A few people think that it can be an opportunity to leverage it by strolling around to varied destinations while others assert that it won't result in any advantage but throwing the money away. I believe with careful consideration, the expenses they pay will pay off with the life lessons. To begin with,travelling can improve the way they see things. By experiencing a few changes in the environment, they can take a lesson and become a more mature person than before. For example, if they hike on a high mountain and then view wonderful scenery from the top, they will learn that nice thing needs some effort to achieve. In addition to this, the freshers can feel more gratitude if they go to the backwoods place, such as Africa, and they will learn that the easy access they have nowadays is an important thing to others. However, going to a place without a purpose, is indeed just an extravagant behaviour. If students just visit a big city, such as a mall or cafe, they can retrieve the experiences from that. They need to select the destinations carefully. As an alternative, if they have no destination to go to, then they can wait for university life to start while learning a few things at home. In conclusion, the students will obtain precious lessons from travelling and exploring places. However, they need to pay attention to which places they want to visit.